Why change is good

Last week, I was talking to a friend of mine and he told me that I’ve changed a lot since I moved from Santos (my hometown) to Porto Alegre. I was wondering about this. Since I moved from Santos, I was able to meet other people, meet other places and live different situations. Which made me grow in every aspect of my life. Once I was in Porto Alegre I started to work in Thoughtworks. Thoughtworks’s environment encourage its employees to work in  a particular way. We like diversity, initiative and people who like to express their own opinion. This was a big change to me. I never had the freedom to suggest improvements or even complain about what I believed was wrong. At ThoughtWorks, people will let you know directly when you’ve done something wrong. It is a private and direct feedback to you. It is a though experience. They will tell this and explain why. Because of this I had to think and act of differently from what I was used to. I had to leave my comfort zone and start to learn how to handle those different situations.

I had a lot of different experiences since I joined TW. Here are some of them: I had to explain to a colleague from China how get a cab and go to a shopping mall. I had to explain to Americans why Brazil has so many taxes. I ate real Indian food made by Indians. I went to a country where no one knows how the way of the life in Brazil is and where I came from. I had to teach Portuguese to a German girl. I had to work with passionate people and try to solve a tough problem. I had to be honest with myself and my team and call out what is wrong no matter how difficult it was. I had to understand that I still have to learn a lot of things and I have to keep studying and learning forever.

When you work in a dynamic environment that challenges you, you have to learn how to be in a position that you are not used to.  This makes you grow and improve. This makes you start to question the status quo.

In summary, my friend was right. I really have changed. I am sure that today I have new ideas, new principles and I have improved as a human being.

Leave a Reply

